Reynold Reynolds, 2010

Six Easy Pieces

Six Easy Pieces is based on the book "Six Easy Pieces: Essentials of physics explained by its most brilliant teacher" by Richard P. Feynman. It brings together the foundations of "Film as the Seventh Art; a superb conciliation of the 'Rhythms of Space' and the 'Rhythms of Time'" by Ricciotto Canudo and "Music is the pleasure the human mind experiences from counting without being aware that it is counting" by Gottfried Leibniz.

The work deconstructs film as the perfect synthesis of art and technology. Connecting art and science, it romantically refers to an age when artists and scientists had similar concerns and were often one and the same person.

A documentation by Alexander Czekalla on the making of Six Easy Pieces:

This work is the third of the Secrets Trilogy, a cycle exploring the imperceptible conditions that frame life.

Secret Life
Secret Machine

Register (FL//012)

Six Easy Pieces
Reynold Reynolds
3 channel video, color video from 16mm film and photo stills, stereo audio
1920px x 1080px, 8'00"